Film Awards in New Zealand

There doesn't appear to have been any recognition of excellence in film making in New Zealand until the Guild of Film and TV Arts started administering the GOFTA awards in 1986.

Before then, excellence in New Zealand moving images had only recognised in television productionn via the New Zealand Television Workshop (1965-66) and New Zealand Feltex Awards (1970-85).

AFTA (Academy of Film and Television Arts) administered the Film Awards and Television Awards, and it was from them the winners' lists came. The Gofta itself was a two foot wide sculptured karaka sprey, designed by Terry Stringer. There should be a photograph of one to the right of this paragraph.

The Film Awards and Television Awards used to be run as a joint ceremony until 2000 when they were split into two separate events. Follow the links above for information on winners.

New Zealand Screen Awards logoAfter the 2003 awards there was gap due to lack of sponsorship, and the future of New Zealand film awards was uncertain until December 2004, when the Screen Directors Guild (SDG) announced their decision to take on the task of creating and running the New Zealand Screen Awards. The TV awards were held every year, with the film awards being held in alternate years to ensure there are enough films to compete.

2005 also saw the creation of the new and completely separate Qantas Television Awards (QTA), being administered by the New Zealand Television Broadcasters' Council.

In mid 2008 The Screen Directors Guild and New Zealand Television Broadcasters' Council announced that they had joined forces to create the combines Qantas Film and Television Awards.

These were renamed as the Aotearoa Film and Television Awards in 2011 with a fresh look that it was hoped would better reflect the nature of the event.

Reports suggested that the Screen Directors Guild didn't appreciated the make over, feeling the TV stars were stealing the limelight. This, alongside issues regarding funding and other factors, saw them withdraw from involvement with the awards. Into the vacuum entered Ant Timpson and New Zealand Herald Entertainment Editor Hugh Sundae whose light hearted comments about setting up something turned into the Sorta Unofficial New Zealand Film Awards in 2012, which became the Rialto Channel New Zealand Film Awards in following years.

Details of winners in the TV categories can be found in the Kiwi TV section of this site.