Awards adGuest celebrities present awards to New Zealand’s best performers in rock, country, records, theatre, film and live performance.

Hosts included Pete Sinclair, Dick Emery, and Dennis Waterman.

While they didn't include any awards for tv productions, they did grant The Pegasus Award for excellence in entertainment for the year which went to local TV stars Billy T James (1980) and Ray Woolf (1981). 


Band of the Year: Split Enz, Highly commended: Toy Love, male rock performer of the year and record of the year male performer: Tim Finn, album of the year:  Split Enz's True Colours, Single of the year I Got You ; Female rock performer, record of the year by a female, and Entertainer of the Year: Sharon O’Neill, The Rising Star Award: Derek Metzger, Merit Award: Jon Trimmer, Country male performer:  Eddie Lowe,  top country female performer: Suzanne Prentice, who also won the Recording Industry Association's special merit award, New Zealand Country Music Association award: Steven Bunns.


The presentation was by the English television actor, Dennis Waterman, at the Maidment Theatre.

Band of the year: Dave McCartney and the Pink Flamingoes. Male rock performer: Hammond Gamble; female rock performer, . Sharon O’Neill. Male country performer, Gray Bartlett; female country performer, Suzanne Prentice. Record single of the year: Counting the Beat, by The Swingers; album of the year, Waiata, by Split Enz. Best New Zealand play: Foreskin's Lament, by Greg McGee. Male recording performer of the year: Richard Eriwata; female recording performer of the year: Sharon O’Neill. Best actor of the year: Kelly Johnson (Goodbye Pork Pie); best actress, Claire Oberman (Goodbye Pork Pie); best feature film, Goodbye Pork Pie.

Comments powered by CComment