An intricately woven, suspenseful tale of love, murder, magic and revenge set on the Wild West Coast of New Zealand's South Island at the height of the 1860s Gold Rush. Anna Wetherell (Eve Hewson) has travelled to New Zealand to forge a new life. On the last day of her voyage, a romantic first encounter with the radiant Emery Staines (Himesh Patel) fills her with great expectations for what lies ahead. However, the scheming fortuneteller Lydia Wells (Eva Green) has other ideas for Anna and Emery and lays a trap to ensure that the planned rendezvous between the young lovers never takes place. Deceived, swindled, and betrayed, Anna's fortunes begin to fall. She is drawn into an elaborate plot of blackmail involving opium, gold, shipwreck, fraud and false identity. And when Emery vanishes without a trace, leaving Anna without an alibi for a murder she did not commit, the noose of the plot begins to tighten around her.

First Season

Episode 1
In 1865 two young adventurers, Anna Wetherell and Emery Staines, meet on the last day of their voyage to New Zealand.

Episode 2
Lydia and Carver hatch a plan to free Carver from his convict past. Emery sets sail to the goldfields in search of Anna. In 1866, the results of Crosbie Wells' autopsy are revealed.

Episode 3
Anna's suspicions are aroused as Lydia prepares to host a party. Lauderback is blackmailed. In 1866, Crosbie Wells is buried.

Episode 4
In 1865, Emery and Anna have a disastrous reunion in Hokitika, Emery learns about Carver's past and Quee makes a rewarding discovery. In 1866, hope is fading for Anna - in desperation she takes matters into her own hands.

Episode 5
A stranger arrives in town and interrupts a secret council between the men of Hokitika. The events from the night Crosbie Wells died are pieced together.

Episode 6
Anna is tried for murder. New evidence reveals a connection between Lauderback and Crosbie Wells.

Watch @ TVNZ

dvd cover
book cover
Buy me
at Mighty Ape

Comments powered by CComment